Go Beyond

Join Raising the Grade, an educational program of Boys and Girls Clubs of Canada. In our Raising the Grade technology centres, we will help you discover your interests, shape your career goals, and plan for your future.

Tell me more
Visit the Community Site
or find out how to join!
Tell me more
Hangin' out at East Scarborough BGC

Get Help.

You will be matched with a mentor or volunteer
who will help you to:

  • Discover your own interests
  • Figure out what kind of a career you might like
  • Choose the right high school courses to reach your
    chosen career
  • Study for your courses and work on your homework
  • Fill out applications to colleges and scholarships
    when you are ready
More youth having fun

Get Online.

The Raising the Grade website gives you access to many links and tools to help you explore your interests.

If you are a program participant, the community site will also assist you in learning about the kinds of careers that match what you already love to do or what you may discover you love to do through the program.

The Raising the Grade technology centre provides you with a designated room containing computers, high-speed Internet access, hardware and software to best support your learning and interests.

More youth having fun
At Toronto Kiwanis RRTG Technology Centre

Get Ahead.

Participating in Rogers Raising the Grade will help prepare you with skills to make the transition from high school to Post-Secondary Education. The unique experiences that you’ll get in the program will strengthen your confidence in yourself to succeed. Bring on life after high school! You’ve got this!

Enroll Today!

April 9, 2015

Angi Eddy can’t say enough about the impact of Rogers Raising the Grade in her community.

“I have been able to help a teen who dropped out of high school get back into classes,” explains the Education Supervisor of the Boys & Girls Club Services of Greater Victoria.

“I watched a young mother defy all the expectations she had for herself and apply to college. A youth who failed all her classes last year recently showed me a report card that is honour roll-worthy. And the program has been running for less than 6 months!”

Angi works at the brand new Central Saanich Club facility, which serves a large population of youth from the Tsartlip, Pauquachin, Tseycum and Tsawout First Nations. The community identified a need for the kind of academic support and mentoring that Rogers Raising the Grade (RRTG) offers young people.

Realizing the new facility wouldn’t be completed until January, Angi took the initiative to start running RRTG sessions at a local coffee shop, bringing laptops and tablets and meeting with youth a few times a week.

“It’s amazing to see the kids discover education and career opportunities they had never considered or even thought possible,” says Angi. “Often the youth haven’t been told that they can succeed in school and it’s a privilege to support and celebrate them.”

With the grand opening of the Club’s Rogers Raising the Grade Tech Centre, young people now have a dedicated space where they can go after school. They’re getting help with their homework and connecting with mentors and other youth as they increase their digital literacy and make plans for their post-secondary future.

Angi is amazed by how quickly a community of youth has developed around the program.

“It’s inspiring to see kids with different backgrounds having organic, youth-led conversations about issues that matter to them.  We are seeing stellar role modeling and relationships develop between the older and younger participants.”

The Tech Centre is now regularly filled to capacity and Angi believes this is due in part to making educational technology available to youth who don’t have easy access to computers or the Internet.

“Rogers Raising the Grade is such an opportunity,” she says. “Every day, we are seeing an increase in interest and in motivation. It’s a huge boost for the community.”

February 23, 2015

Rogers Raising the Grade is an interactive after-school program that focuses on two key elements: Academic Support and Life After High School. The program enables youth to connect with mentors and tutors, receive homework support, interact with peers, increase their digital literacy, plan for postsecondary education and prepare for future work opportunities. The program also supports youth to work through life’s challenges while building community and leadership opportunities with their RRTG and BGCC peer groups.

Three members of the Okanagan Boys and Girls Clubs tell us about their experience with Rogers Raising the Grade.

“Rogers Raising the Grade has helped me with Grade 10 Planning projects; it has helped me with confusion about everyday things as well as helped to alleviate some frustration I have with schoolwork.” –Soren

“My favourite part of the program is getting to learn about real world things, volunteering and having a good time with interesting and sometimes funny mini assignments.” –Bailey

“One of my favorite things we have done at Rogers Raising the Grade is volunteering at a local restaurant.” –Samson

January 27, 2015

At the Boys and Girls Club of Riverview, Rogers Raising the Grade (RRTG) found a fun and interactive way to explore concepts like conductivity, electrical circuits and input/output systems for computers. Using an invention kit called MaKey MaKey (http://makeymakey.com), members connected organic materials with computer chips to play old-school video games!

The youth combined Play-Doh, pencils, paperclips and cups of water to create a remote control. Fashioning bracelets out of aluminum foil and alligator clips allowed them to use their bodies to complete an electrical circuit. The MaKey MaKey kit is designed to make the computer think it is a keyboard, so once the circuit was formed, members programmed buttons to correspond with actions on the screen.

Before they knew it, they were playing vintage Nintendo games with their crazy creations! Way to go, Riverview!

De l’avenirMC

Joins-toi à Visez la réussiteMC Rogers, un programme éducationnel des Clubs Garçons et Filles du Canada. Dans nos centres de technologie Visez la réussiteMC, nous t’aiderons à découvrir tes intérêts, à forger tes objectifs de carrière et à planifier ton avenir.

Je veux en savoir plus
Visiter le site communautaire
ou apprendre comment participer!
Je veux en savoir plus
Au CGF de Scarborough Est

De l’aide.

On t’assignera un mentor ou bénévole pour t’aider à :

  • découvrir tes propres intérêts
  • déterminer quelle sorte de carrière pourrait te plaire
  • choisir les cours du secondaire nécessaires pour poursuivre cette carrière
  • étudier pour tes cours et faire tes devoirs
  • remplir les demandes de bourse ou d’admission au collège ou à l’université, le moment venu d’entreprendre des études postsecondaires.
Plus de jeunes ont du plaisir...

Va en ligne.

Le site Web du programme Visez la réussiteMC Rogers te donnera accès à de nombreuses ressources et outils pour t’aider à explorer ce qui t’intéresse. En participant au programme, tu bénéficieras de l’aide qu’on fournit dans le site communautaire pour que tu puisses te renseigner sur toutes sortes de carrières qui correspondent à ce que te plaît déjà ou à ce que tu pourrais découvrir grâce au programme. Le centre de technologie Visez la réussiteMC Rogers te donnera accès à une aire de travail équipée d’ordinateurs, de l’accès Internet haute vitesse, de périphériques et de logiciels propres à te soutenir dans la poursuite de ton apprentissage et de tes intérêts.

Plus de jeunes ont du plaisir...
Visez la réussite au Kiwanis de Toronto

Prends de l’avance.

Ta participation à Visez la haute note de Rogers te préparera à faire la transition du secondaire aux études postsecondaires. Le programme va te faire vivre des expériences toutes particulières qui te donneront la confiance nécessaire pour réussir. Envisage la vie après le secondaire! Ce programme est là pour ça!

Inscris-toi dès aujourd'hui!

9 avril 2015

Les exemples de succès ne manquent pas quand Angi Eddy parle du programme Visez la réussite Rogers (VLRR). « J’ai été capable d’aider un jeune décrocheur à retourner sur les bancs d’école », dit la responsable pédagogique du Club Garçons et Filles de Central Saanich.

« J’ai vu une mère défier toutes les attentes qu’elle avait envers elle-même en s’inscrivant à l’université », enchaîne-t-elle. Une jeune femme qui a échoué à tous ses cours l’an passé m’a récemment montré son bulletin scolaire avec une mention honorifique. Et le programme ne roule que depuis six mois! »

Le club de Central Saanich est un établissement flambant neuf appartenant au Club Garçons et Filles du Grand Victoria, fréquenté par de nombreux jeunes des Premières Nations Tsartlip, Pauquachin, Tseycum et Tsawout. Ces communautés ont souvent besoin de soutien aux études et de mentorat, ce que propose justement le programme Visez la réussite Rogers.

Il y a deux ans, le club prévoyait déménager de son vieux bâtiment situé à Brentwood Bay. Mais comme le nouvel édifice n’allait pas être prêt à temps, Angi a pris l’initiative de lancer le programme VLRR dans un café. Armée d’ordinateurs et de tablettes, elle y a organisé de nombreuses rencontres avec les jeunes.

« C’est incroyable de voir les enfants découvrir l’éducation et les possibilités d’emploi auxquelles ils n’avaient jamais pensé, dit-elle. Ils n’ont souvent pas été encouragés à réussir à l’école. C’est un privilège de pouvoir les soutenir. »

Avec l’inauguration du Centre de technologie Visez la réussite Rogers, les jeunes ont désormais un lieu à fréquenter après l’école. Le programme leur permet d’obtenir de l’aide aux devoirs, d’interagir avec des mentors et des jeunes de leur âge, d’acquérir des connaissances informatiques et de planifier leurs études postsecondaires.

Angi est surprise de la rapidité avec laquelle les jeunes tissent des liens. « C’est inspirant de voir ces enfants, venus d’horizons différents, discuter d’enjeux qui leur tiennent à cœur. On voit des relations se développer entre les plus vieux et les plus jeunes. »

Le centre de technologie est souvent rempli au maximum de sa capacité. Selon Angi, cette popularité n’est pas étrangère au fait que ces jeunes n’ont pas toujours accès à des ordinateurs et à internet. « Visez la réussite Rogers est un cadeau en or. Chaque jour, la motivation de nos membres grandit. C’est un énorme coup de pouce pour la communauté. »

23 février 2015

Visez la réussite de Rogers est un programme parascolaire interactif à deux volets principaux : le soutien scolaire et la vie après l’école secondaire. Le programme permet aux jeunes de bénéficier de mentors et de tuteurs, d’obtenir de l’aide à faire leurs devoirs, d’interagir avec des jeunes de leur âge, d’acquérir des connaissances informatiques, de planifier leurs études postsecondaires et de se préparer à de futurs emplois. Le programme vise également à aider les jeunes à passer au travers des difficultés de la vie et à accroître leurs contacts dans la communauté et avec des leaders en compagnie de leurs groupes de camarades du VLRR et des CGFC.

Trois membres des Clubs Garçons et Filles de l’Okanagan nous racontent leur expérience du programme VLRR.

« Grâce à Visez la réussite de Rogers, j’ai pu faire mes projets de planification de 10e année; le programme m’a aidé à démêler mes activités de tous les jours et à réduire mes frustrations avec mes devoirs. » –Soren

« Ma partie préférée du programme, c’est d’apprendre des choses sur le vrai monde, de faire du bénévolat et d’avoir du plaisir à faire des mini-travaux intéressants et parfois drôles.  » –Bailey

« Une de mes activités préférées de Visez la réussite de Rogers a été de faire du bénévolat à un restaurant du coin. » –Samson

27 janvier 2015

Au club garçons et filles de Riverview, Visez la réussite Rogers (VLRR) a trouvé un moyen tripant et interactif d’explorer des concepts comme la conductivité, les circuits électriques et les systèmes des entrées-sorties en informatique. À l’aide d’une trousse d’invention appelée MaKey MaKey (http://makeymakey.com), les membres ont connecté des matériaux organiques avec des puces d’ordinateur pour jouer à des jeux vidéos à l’ancienne!

Les jeunes ont combiné pâte à modeler, crayons, trombones et tasses d’eau pour créer une télécommande. Après avoir fabriqué des bracelets avec du papier d’aluminium et des pinces crocodiles, ils ont utilisé leur corps pour former un circuit électrique. La trousse MaKey MaKey est conçue pour faire croire à l’ordinateur qu’il est un clavier; une fois le circuit formé, les membres ont programmé des boutons correspondant aux actions sur l’écran.

En un rien de temps, ils jouaient à des jeux Nintendo d’époque avec leurs créations bizarroïdes! Cool, Riverview!